Dear Korea (by Baden)

27 Feb

Dear Korea

Thank you so much for having us. Cath and I really enjoyed our stay.

Even though I was never 100% sure of what you were saying to me, showing me or asking of me, I felt very welcome here. You made an effort in making sure I was alright, and didn’t feel home sick. Thank you.

I have had so many wonderful experiences, challenges and explorations during my year here. There are three particular things I want to thank you for. First, as a kid in school, my teachers would sometimes asked me; “If you had a million bucks, what would you do?” Such a question seemed unfathomable. But you made this possible for me, thank you. Over this year I was not only a millionaire, but a multi millionaire. Second, Thanks for seasons. You really do have “four distinct seasons.” The beautiful cherry blossoms of spring, the scorching humidity, high temperatures and greenery of summer, the vibrant, reds, yellows, oranges, and brown colours of autumn and the white snow capped mountains, frozen rivers and minus temperatures of winter. It was such an honour to experience the earth’s seasons as they are taught in nursery school. And third, a taste of home only uniquely Korean; your delicious  braai (barbecue) style restaurants serving samgyup sal, sitting over a meat grill surrounded by an array of side dishes, Yum!

I will always remember you. Thank you for your hospitality and provision over the past year. My wife and I are eternally grateful. God bless you in all your future endeavours.

Yours truly

Baden Dowie (South African English teacher at Yeongju Jeil High School)

One Response to “Dear Korea (by Baden)”

  1. Ann Dowie February 27, 2013 at 1:38 pm #

    Beautifully written. Captured so much in so few words. Korea will forever stay in a part of your hearts.

Leave a Reply

Oriental Balcony - recycle, reuse!

A fine WordPress.com site

The Dowies in Asia

2 travellers and a baby

